top of page

Separation Anxiety

When I was working in a veterinary hospital, I saw so many owners come in asking for help with their pet's separation anxiety! This type of anxiety in pets can manifest in several ways, from potty accidents in the house, chewing on toys (or not toys!) excessively, tearing apart the house, or even chewing on the pet's own paws, tail, etc.

Separation anxiety can be a huge problem for many pets and pet owners and can be really difficult to handle. If you and your pet are suffering from this kind of problem, here are some tips that may help!

1. Your pet often picks up on your own behavior and "energy". That means if you're anxious about leaving the house or leaving your pet alone, he may become anxious as well, simpy because you are! When leaving your pet alone, instead of thinking thoughts such as "he is going to be alone for so long, he is going to be so anxious, I am so worried about him!", think thoughts (and maybe even say things) such as "he is so calm, everything is going to be fine!"

2. Mix up your routine! Pets pick up on repetative behavior. If you always get dressed, grab a quick breakfast, get your keys and purse together, and walk out the door, your dog will start to realize that these behaviors always lead to you leaving him alone. Maybe get your purse and keys together and then sit down on the couch and hang with your pooch! Intentionally mix things up so he doesn't always know what is coming next.

3. Don't make a big deal about it! When I come home from a long day of work, the first thing I want to do is see my puppy. When I come in the door, he gets so excited and is thinking "HELLO HELLO I THOUGHT MAYBE I WOULD NEVER SEE YOU AGAIN I AM SO GLAD YOU ARE HOME!". As much as I love being welcomed like that, it reinforces the idea that he might not have ever seen me again after I left in the morning! Instead, try playing it "cool". Pet your dog and ensure him, yes, of course I come home every time I leave in the morning, so it's not a big deal to see me every night!

4. Talk to your vet about options. It is always best to stay connected with your vet. They might have trainers that you could partner with to help supplement your work at home. Or, they could offer holistic or pharmeceutical options, if training itself is not enough.

5. Remember that separation anxiety is not something that can usually be fixed overnight! Practice daily and be patient with your pet!!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts

...

bottom of page